#ROW80

Busy Weekend and #ROW80 Second Check-In

ROW80 Logo

My goodness. Where in the world does the summer go so quickly? I swear it’s Memorial Day one minute and then half of July is gone the next. Such is the life of having out-of-town family, I suppose. Road trips, visits and events galore. My in-laws came to visit this weekend and we spent some time exploring our new town. I found lots of fun things I can do with the kids and I got to show off my new favorite place in the world: Anderson’s Bookshop. The best stinkin’ indie bookstore in the world (or, at least, in the greater Chicago area…but probably the world too).

The weekend was tons of fun, but it also meant no time for writing or blogging. It was kind of nice to enjoy being untethered from my computer, I have to say. But after our visitors left to go home, I had this nagging sensation in the pit of my stomach. I had a ton to catch up on. Darn all this public accountability stuff. Hehe.

So, I pawned the kids off on my husband today. I mean…I graciously asked him if he would mind being Captain Parent and he said yes, because he is a super-duper husband and father whom I love very much *smooches*. I managed to catch up from zero word count days on Friday and Saturday, and added 2001 words total today to make up for it. With my average over the last 7 days, I am now 5538/5250, which puts me 288 words over my total goal for the week. Woot!

“Story” still does not have a title. And darn Blake Synder’s Save the Cat (which I started reading this weekend) if I don’t feel all kinds of guilty about that. I should have a working logline and killer title right now. The logline I have pretty solid in my head. The title. Well…must.think of.title.now. If you haven’t read Save the Cat, buy it. Now. You’ll thank me later (as I now thank those who recommended it to me).

I sent beta feedback to my friend on her first few chapters. I need to dive in and do some more. But I feel good for getting it started.

Blogging will be tackled this week. I only blogged twice last week (out of my goal of 3) and one of those was an #ROW80 check-in. Probably doesn’t count. BUT (I get at least one “but”, right?)–I made that goal mid-week. So, this will be my first official “must blog 3 times per week” week. Pressure’s on for tomorrow, I guess.

That’s it! I hope the other participants had a fabulous first week.

10 thoughts on “Busy Weekend and #ROW80 Second Check-In

  1. Glad to hear that you had some downtime this weekend! My Saturday was much busier than I expected it to be, but it can be really nice to be unchained from the computer for a few hours. 🙂 I’ve taken to jotting notes down by hand, just so I can have a chance to relax out in the sun for a bit.

    Yay for exceeding the week’s word count goal, and good luck on the week to come!

    • Sun? What’s that? Hehe. Just kidding! Yes, it’s very nice to escape for a while, even if we’re always thinking of our WIPs a little bit :). Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. I’ve heard Anderson’s is fantastic! I don’t know where from – I think they might have sponsored a huge midnight craziness for Harry Potter 7?!? Anyway, I’m glad it’s wonderful and that you found it!

    Nice job on the word count front – even though you were busy, you squeezed it in! Best of luck for this week 🙂

  3. This sounds like all the check-ins I’ve read so far — including my own. We did great on some stuff! and have a little more to kick in gear.

    As you know, I’m in the midst of Save the Cat as well! I’m usually a minor plotter, mostly pantser. The whole logline, title, and now “beats” has my head reeling, but it’s good stuff! I think I did some of this stuff on my first novel just by chance! And it explains why the second novel didn’t go as smoothly while writing it. So I have some work to do.

    Best wishes on the ROW80!

    • You’re right, I think the theme of all the check-ins I read was, “Wow, I was busy this week!” LOL.

      Save the Cat has my mind reeling a little too. I am fighting the urge to go back in the WIP and change things now. I can do that when the draft is done, I think. It’ll just be a matter of rearranging a few scenes, getting the beats in the right location, etc. Actually, the beats is exactly what I needed when reading this book. The exact location of certain structure elements is what has been eluding me so far. I knew stories needed X,Y and Z but placing them just right was confusing. He makes it seem so logical in his layout (though converting it from screenplay layout to novel will take some math :), but I figure it’s a matter of ratios).

Leave a Reply

