Random Musings

David Bowie In Spandex

I’m streaming Labyrinth on my TV right now. Man this movie takes me back with all of its awesomeness. The cheesy story. The classic songs. The puppets. The Package…er…I mean, David Bowie juggling a crystal ball.

I always wanted to do that. When we were in high school my friend and I would practice. She could do it. I couldn’t. If I told you I’m sort of clumsy, I bet you wouldn’t be surprised.

Anyway, I thought I’d share some David Bowie hotness, because if loving Labyrinth is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

And no judging my mothering, but sometimes when I’m having a rotten day with the kids, I put on a stripey hat and say this:

“I can bear it no longer! Goblin King! Goblin King! Wherever you may be, take this child of mine far away from me!”

What’s your favorite cheesy eighties movie? Share a favorite quote.

5 thoughts on “David Bowie In Spandex

  1. “Through dangers untold and hardships unnumbered…”

    I have the Collector’s Edition DVD of Labtrinth and the soundtrack on CD. One of my favourite films, alongside The Dark Crystal 😀

    • “You have no power over me!”

      Love it :). You know, I have never seen The Dark Crystal. I bet it’s on Netflix too, I’ll have to watch it (possibly tonight). I always loved Legend as well.

  2. I totally think that Bowie haircut should make a comeback! Sometimes, that guy just oozes cool.

    Speaking of Bowie, growing up, I watched a flick with Jeff Goldblum, Michelle Pfeiffer, and King Cool over and over on USA’s Night Flight in the 1980’s, called Into the Night. And a couple of other Night Flight movies stand out as cheesy, but I loved them. I Was a Zombie for the FBI (1982) was a cult flick in which two young men must rescue the entire town from being turned into zombies by aliens. The other was a rock movie – which I think was Ladies and Gentlemen, the Fabulous Stains, starring Diana Lane, Laura Dern, and a third actress forming a punk band called the Stains. Night Flight featured a lot of cheesy moves, but SO MUCH FUN!

Leave a Reply

