Family / Random Musings

Nervous about the First Day of Preschool

crayons in a cup

My three-and-a-half-year-old is starting preschool this week. Last month we received our supply list for school. Now we are armed with an arsenal of crayons, glue sticks and healthy peanut-free snacks. Tomorrow we go in to see his official classroom and meet his teacher. Wednesday will be his first day at school on his own.

As a parent, I’m a little bit nervous about the whole thing. I know it’s good for him (and me!) to get out of the house and into the world of other people. But I can’t help thinking of all the things which could potentially go wrong, branding me forever as THAT parent.

1.) Misinterpretations of completely innocent phrases

A friend of mine has two daughters. They are very smart and cute and have sweet personalities. The problem: they think a “high-five” is called a “hand job”. My friend has been unsuccessful in getting them to think/say otherwise. In their minds–you slap hands for doing a good job, therefore it’s a hand job.  Just imagine your four-year-old saying to her teacher, “I want to give you a hand job!” Yeah. You can understand her predicament.

While I’m actually quite thankful I don’t have to deal with THAT one (sorry, S 🙂 ), my son does have a potentially embarrassing phrase.

He will often walk up and say, “Mommy, I’m going to blow you.” Which means he’s going to pretend to be the Big Bad Wolf and blow me down like a house in The Three Little Pigs. He’ll say, “Huff and puff! Huff and puff!” Then he will blow into the air. I make a big show of spinning around the living room and falling on the floor. I know that’s what “blow you” means (and the reverse, “Blow me, Mommy” when he wants me to be the wolf), but his teacher won’t. I have never thought twice about correcting this. He’s not going to learn in two days.

2.) Understanding not-so-innocent phrases

So, I have this problem. It’s bad. I swear like a trucker when I’m driving. (No offense to truckers out there, you may have perfectly clean mouths and you walk around saying, “Wow. That girl curses like Erin”.)  I’ve tried toning it down. But my son has still picked up a few phrases I’d rather he not say at all, let alone in preschool. Or church. Eesh. Which one would be worse? I’m not sure. Probably preschool. At least at church we can pretend we heard some little kid swear too, “I wonder who that was?!”

3.) The potential for our home life to appear problematic

I can see it now. Preschool will have new kids to talk to. And a nice teacher. And art supplies. And toys. And snacks. And playground equipment. On the Coolness Meter, home and Mommy will register on the same level as things like Brussels sprouts and getting your fingernails cleaned. He’s never going to want to leave. I’ll have to drag him out of there kicking and screaming, and everyone will wonder what’s so bad about home. I’ll probably have to bribe him with things like cookies and watching TV if he’ll just leave quietly, which will further damage my image as a parent (because that’s obviously important).

4.) Naked Kid strikes again

I hope this doesn’t happen at school. I really, really hope so. But every once in a while my son will decide he’s had enough of wearing clothes. So he’ll take them off. All of them. I then have to chase him down, trying to convince him to at least put on his underwear. But he’ll say something like, “No. I want the people to see my butt.” And then I have to explain how the people don’t really want to see it.

If you’re the praying type, start now. May he never show his butt at school. May he never show his butt at school. 

In all seriousness, I’m excited for this opportunity for him. I can hardly believe he’s old enough for preschool. I’m sure there will be tears shed on Wednesday (mostly mine) but this is an exciting new milestone in our parent-child journey. I hope he has fun. I hope he learns a lot. And I hope he makes a lot of new friends.

Are your kids starting school this week? Any nuggets of wisdom for a newbie? Happy New School Year to you all!

10 thoughts on “Nervous about the First Day of Preschool

  1. Boaz starts preschool in two weeks… I’m nervous and excited for him too. I’m sure all of our preschoolers will embarrass the snot out of us in some way/shape/form! We’ll just need to consider ourselves the ‘cool parents!’

  2. Oh, and don’t worry too much. Being a preschool teacher myself, I have heard some doozies. I usually just laugh and tell my coworkers later. That’s the part I’m worried about, my kids will be the ones talked about in the teachers lounge. LOL!

  3. Ref: #1 and 2

    Trust me, preschool and kinder teachers have heard them all!

    Ref: #3

    Most likely he’ll be so excited to share with you what he did in school you won’t have any problems. LOL, most parents worry about their kids kicking and screaming when they’re dropped off.

    Ref: #4

    Hmm…positive thoughts for you on that one, LOL. I never had that issue but my SIL did. Not sure now what she did to keep darling nephew clothed during school. (Wonder if that’s a boy only thing?)

    Word to the wise…make room on the fridge 🙂 Lots of artwork will be incoming. Enjoy this next stage.

    • Thanks, Raelyn. He did great (though he didn’t want to leave, he just protested quietly). I think this is going to be really good for him. And so far, we’ve had no nakie incidents in the first 2 days.

  4. I remember those days fondly! Preschool teachers have seen just about everything. And he isn’t the only nudist that age! He’ll probably be so busy that he won’t think to undress. *crossing fingers*

    I don’t blame you for swearing like a trucker, they way some people drive! I simply rant, but when my kids repeat it, I think, “Oh, that’s how I sound.” :/

    Blessings for a wonderful first day! Take photos of your cutie’s first day. And put kleenex in your purse, just in case.

  5. my daughter starts pre-k on Monday. We get to go see her classroom and meet her teacher Wednesday night. She went to school one day a week last year, but I’m still nervous about how she’s going to do this year since it’s five days a week. My concerns are actually the opposite of yours, I’m afraid she won’t talk at all or interact with the teacher/other kids since she’s extremely shy & still a bit behind in her speech(the reason she was in the program last year). But, i know she loved going last year, so I hope that keeps up this year.

    Good luck to your son!(and to you)

    And as the wife of a trucker, I can assure you they certainly can have foul mouths. 😉

Leave a Reply

