#ROW80 / Books I've Read

Scholastic Order Time–What Are Your Favorite Children’s Books?

I feel like it’s Christmas in August today. Yesterday my son came home from preschool with his first set of Scholastic order forms. Meep!

I remember getting these when I was in school and poring over the pages for hours. I had my own little system where I circled all the books I wanted. I’d double circle anything I really wanted. And I’d double circle and star all the books I really really really wanted. I find myself doing that exact same thing right now as I figure out what to order for my son (and my younger twins). My purchases will be totally justified too, because every order helps earn books for my son’s classroom. Win-win!

It’s fun flipping through the thin pages and seeing familiar titles I loved as a kid, like the Berenstain Bears and Little Critter books, alongside the newer children’s titles, like the Skippyjon Jones and Fancy Nancy books.

So, after much circling, starring, and debating, I think we’re going with:

If You Give a Cat a Cupcake, by Laura Numeroff, pictures by Felicia Bond

If You Give a Cat a Cupcake

My kids really like If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (the book that started the If You Give… craze), so I think they’ll enjoy this. I wonder what will happen if we give the cat his cupcake? His friend the mouse was certainly demanding and drank all my milk.

Pirates Go to School, by Corinne Demas, pictures by John Manders

Pirates Go to School

My son likes pirates. He goes to school. Therefore he should enjoy this book. If not, I’ll make him walk the plank.

Interrupting Chicken, by David Ezra Stein

Interrupting Chicken

This story is about a chicken who is so excited to read bedtime stories, he can’t help but interrupt while his father reads them. Sounds like my kids exactly.

What were your favorite books to read AS a kid?  What were your favorite books to read TO your kids? What books did your kids enjoy most?

_____________________________

Tacking on #ROW80 Check-In:

–Blogging last week: Accomplished 3 times (even though it wasn’t on the exact days I had planned). This week I’m on track.

–Writing: I added 5,000 words last week, which isn’t too shabby (a little shy of 750/day, but close).

How did other ROW80 participants do?

16 thoughts on “Scholastic Order Time–What Are Your Favorite Children’s Books?

  1. How fun. I can remember doing the same thing! I remember Good Night Mr. Sun, Good Morning Mr. Moon. Bernstein Bears, Seuss, and the Golden Goose books. My grand kids are owners of them now.

    I hope your little ones get the ones they really, really, cross my heart want:)

    Sounds like your ROW80 is going good. Yeah. I think you’re right, the new words just may be better. (Still sniffling, though) Good luck.

  2. Thanks, Doree. Oh yes, I loved the Seuss books as well. We have a collection of those at home now. And Shel Silverstein poems too. My old copy of Where the Sidewalk Ends is falling apart, but it’s definitely my most prized book on the shelf.

  3. Oh, what memories those bring back! I think the Scholastic order forms were the main reason I started asking for chores and an allowance as a kid. When I was wee. I loved Harry the Dirty Dog and anything with dinosaurs or horses. Later, the Bunnicula books were my favorites.

    No kids of my own, but I’m the stodgy aunt that buys books for Christmas. 😉 It’s been a joy to pass along the ones I loved.

    5K is a totally respectable week’s work. Wishing you at least as many this week!

  4. Great progress! I’m amazed that any mother of young kids can work writing into the mix. Hang in there, and you’ll find a way to adjust your writing schedule, since you’ve already shown that writing is important to you.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  5. The staple of childhood! Of course by the time you get to the fourth kid bringing those order forms home everyone is hard pressed to find something NOT already in the house.

    Great progress on the writing front. You go girl!

    • Ha! True. Though I’ll have 2 at once in 2 years, so at least it won’t be all those years of having to figure out a new order (it’ll just be more money spent at the same time, LOL).

      Thanks!

  6. My daughter has If You Give a Pig a Pancake & If You Give A Pig A Party and loves both of them. I would read just about anything as a kid. When I was in first grade, my teacher gave me a book that was at a third grade reading level, and I didn’t have any trouble with it. I seriously devoured books. I see my daughter taking after me there. My son, on the other hand, won’t even sit still long enough for a short kids book. He’s not quite 1 yet, but I remember my daughter sitting with me for a couple stories at night when she was that age. Just another of the differences between them, I guess.

    • My twins love bringing me books to read, but only sit for about 2 or 3 pages and then they are trying to rip the book out of my hands. My 3-year-old is hit and miss during the day, but at night he likes to read before bed. His favorite book right now is Brown Bear, Brown Bear What Do You See? by Eric Carle and Bill Martin Jr. He has that one memorized. He likes his Dr. Seuss books too.

  7. We bought the Numeroff books through Scholastic as well and enjoyed them. Other hits in my house include Animalia, Chicka-Chicka Boom-Boom, Eating the Alphabet, The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry & the Big Hungry Bear. Enjoy these years!

    • They just read Chicka-Chicka-Boom-Boom in his class, he came home with a palm tree with letters stamped all over it (must have been the correlating art project). I’ll have to keep my eyes open for these others in the catalogs (and library or bookstore). Thanks!

  8. Wow, she’s written a lot of “If you give a X a Y” books. I read the X=Mouse, Y=Cookie book to my boys eons ago (think that’s what they were…they’re teenagers now). I used to love the Scholastic flyer too, gives me a special warmth when I read YA books published by them. Hunger Games being one.

    5000 words is AWESOME! Good job. I’m probably going to have to put blogging on my goal list for my next round. I had it in round 1 but dropped it for rounds 2 and 3. That and Sunday night flash fiction. We’re in the home stretch now for this round.

    • Is Sunday night flash fiction through AW? I’ve never written flash fiction, but the Blog Chain challenges have sort of been that for me, as I didn’t post anything from a WIP (though I don’t know what really constitutes flash fiction as those posts didn’t necessarily have a structure to them). Anyway, it sounds fun!

      It’ll be fun as the years go on for my kids and Scholastic forms, I wonder if by the time they are teenagers, I’ll “know” anyone with books in the order form? That would be so fun!

  9. I loved it when it was time to order books at school! I remember getting so upset with my parents if they wouldn’t buy me more than ten at a time. I mean, I could read two or three a night! 🙂

    Congrats on the 5K – that’s GREAT! Keep it up…

Leave a Reply

