Family / Food

From Scratch

You guys. I am so excited. For the first time ever today, I made pumpkin bread from scratch. No, not like you’re thinking. From scratch scratch*.

I love pumpkin bread. It’s one of those things I look forward to in the fall and winter months. The warm spices fill my house with the scent of yumminess. And until today I always thought I was making it from scratch. I measured the ingredients, mixed them in a bowl myself and baked them to perfection. But I used that little can of pumpkin.

This time I started with a seed. And I planted it in a mound of dirt in my back yard. And then it was overrun with weeds and my mother-in-law had to come over and help me clear it out and mulch it. And then I never worried about that again. Then I watered it and gave it lots of love and sunshine and my little seed turned into little vines.

And then we went on vacation and my little vines turned into vines of epic proportions ala Little Shop of Horrors and started taking over the sidewalk after poking through our picket fence. Embarrassing.

But we tamed them. Sort of. And my husband had to figure out how to mow the lawn around them for weeks and weeks. I continued to water them and the sun continued to feed them.

And then, one magical day, we had this:

pumpkin on a vine

And it was beautiful. And confusing. Because I had pumpkins. And. Well. What the hell do I DO with them? I figured Libby’s got them into a can somehow, I just had to figure it out. So I went to the internet and found a recipe.  And I started my adventure.

First, I needed pumpkin puree. So I sliced a pumpkin open, cleaned out the seeds, and baked it–at 425 degrees–for eh, 30 minutes-ish. Until I could poke a knife through it easily. Then I peeled off the skin while it was still hot. And only kind of burnt my fingers. Then once the pumpkin flesh was cool, I tossed it all in a blender and pureed it.

Then I grabbed some helpers and followed this recipe:

  • 2 cups of fresh cooked pumpkin
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I used whole wheat because I am THAT mom…if I’m going to load my kids up on sugar, it’s coming from whole grain other stuff, dammit)
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. allspice
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup water
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a large mixing bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, sugar, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice
  3. Add in eggs, water, oil and pumpkin
  4. Stir until blended
  5. Pour into two lightly greased and floured 9×5 loaf pans
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 1 hour or until a knife comes out clean
  7. Remove from oven and cool for 10 minutes
  8. Take out of pans to cool on a rack
  9. Wrap in plastic wrap and store in refrigerator
  10. Eat for dessert and/or breakfast until it runs out
Yummy.

*I realize by my own standards, I still haven’t made it from “scratch”, seeing as how I didn’t grow the wheat and mill it into flour and all that jazz. Man. People from the olden days–like Pioneers–were hard core. 

6 thoughts on “From Scratch

  1. I LOVE pumpkin anything 🙂 and fresh from the vine is the best. I remember the first time I made pumpkin pie from the pumpkins in my garden, my in-laws thought I was trying to pull one over on them because the pie wasn’t bright orange, LOL. I’ll have to send you my muffin recipe. I’m also the whole wheat flour mum and I actually add fiber to all my baked goods because of one wee beastie’s dietary needs. I think that makes me worse 😀

    • Oh, muffin recipe would be great! I have like 8 more pumpkins to bake :). I’m going to freeze some pumpkin for thanksgiving pies too.

      And you know, I was kind of surprised it wasn’t bright orange either. I think my husband was too. Who knew? LOL.

  2. Wow! I admire the from scratch philosophy! I just wish our soil allowed for growing things, but alas, it’s too clay-ish, and e just ended up with a lot of hobbit like vegetables!
    Great job! It looks delish!

    • Thanks, Liza. Well, it’s a philosophy, for sure. Though not one I follow through with everything :). It does give me new found respect for people who had to (and have to) grown their own food to survive). And my veggie garden would never have made it without my mother-in-law…I wasn’t kidding about that part up there, LOL!

  3. That’s amazing! I’ve grown veggies only twice and had a real sense of accomplishment eating something from my own garden. (I’m such a city girl. Or lazy cook. Or something.) I’m sure the bread is delicious, and your sous chef is rather handsome.

    • He is rather fetching, isn’t he? 🙂

      Oh and I’m a city girl too, haha! I certainly didn’t accomplish this garden all on my own doing, though I am more motivated to do it again next year.

Leave a Reply

