Random Musings

A Love Letter to My Favorite Black Shirt

black t-shirt

Dear black t-shirt,

I had no idea when I bought you at Target that you were magical. As far as I could tell, you were black, long-sleeved, and some sort of stretchy cotton blend. And cheap, because let’s be honest, so am I.

Since that day you have proven your worth by withstanding many wearings and washings without a lot of fading. You survived nose wipes from kids, spilled food, repeated tuggings on your sleeve cuffs, all without complaint and without scars. You hug me in the right places and pull away from the places I don’t want to be hugged. That takes talent, that does.

But yesterday I found out about your super powers. You managed to make me look put together when I’m really, really not. Well, you plus a scarf.

As I walked into the bookstore with my double stroller full of twins and my three-year-old alongside, I saw the women in the store look at me. And I saw them gasp, as people often do when the kiddies and I come calling. But instead of whispering about how my hands must be full, or grumbling about young kids in a quiet store, I heard them saying, “Wow. Look at her. She looks nicer than we do!”

Can you say ego boost?

I could have just as easily chosen a hoodie to wear yesterday. And as you and I both know, I barely squeaked in a shower before preschool drop-off. I didn’t dry my hair, so it was a wavy mess I tried disguising with a big barrette. The only explanation for the compliment was that it was all you. So thank you for that, black shirt. I don’t think I could have done it without you.

Love,

Erin

P.S. My only regret is that I didn’t buy you some identical black shirt siblings, because Target doesn’t have you stocked anymore. Someday when our relationship must come to its regretful end, I will have no back-up. And I will be sad.

11 thoughts on “A Love Letter to My Favorite Black Shirt

  1. Haha, love it. I used to get a lot of favorite shirts at Target, but lately the collars all go to pot within a couple weeks. Kohls sells a t-shirt that I really love though. They’re nice enough to wear with slacks or jeans. Been stocking up on them.

    • Oh, I love Kohl’s too. I rediscovered it recently after a few years of not shopping there. Then suddenly I found so much great stuff–for me, the kids, the house–and was like, “Wait. Why did I stop shopping here??”

  2. Can’t express how much I love this and relate! On all levels too- cheapness especially! I must admit a twinge of jealousy over the compliment. I just get the “my you have your hands full” sympathetic glance over my tug at saggy jeans and sloppy shirt :/

  3. Dude, that sounds like an epic black shirt! I have a couple of shirts that are like that–>tailored just right to flatter my figure…too bad black is no longer part of my dress code in my day job…I don’t feel *as* put together/confident in white shirts.

    I’m happy you were able to roll out and appreciate your magical t-shirt and get some random love…those are the best (especially when not from a creepy creeperson!) ^_^

    • Thanks, Liza. I hear ya on white shirts vs. black, though a nice, crisp white dress shirt always looks put together. I just have a harder time keeping them white (and crisp) these days.

      Random compliments from non-creepers really are awesome.

  4. I love this, Erin! I get attached to certain basics as well. They are the building blocks of a wardrobe. For me, though, it’s brown. My brown stuff is great. And you noted that all it takes to dress up a nice tee is an accessory – a scarf, a beaded necklace, a cool jacket, whatever.

    I’m sure that perfect black shirt from Target also cost less than your check-out at the bookstore!

    • So true on all accounts, Julie! Basic t-shirt plus simple accessory = fab outfit. I adore scarves, personally. I really need to learn how to buy and wear jewelry, I’d love a fun, chunky necklace to add to my wardrobe :).

      And, yes. My bookstore bill was MUCH more expensive than the black t-shirt. Totally worth it though :). I think we found ourselves a new favorite kids book in my house: Chicks and Salsa. My kids love it.

  5. Pingback: They Like Me. They Really Like Me. « Erin Writes

Leave a Reply

