#ROW80 / Writing Community

ROW80 Round 4 Goals

Oh my goodness, in typical Erin fashion this ROW80 Round Four Goal Statement totally snuck up on me. It’s like my husband is always saying, “Be organized. Write things down.” Doh! I should really learn to do that. Uh…would you believe me if I told you I used to be an event planner? I swear I do know how to be organized. Or, at least I did. Before I had kids who ate my brains through their umbilical cords. Like zombie babies.

Anyway, squeaking in here…my goals (which will hopefully help me in that whole organization process):

  • Develop a dedicated writing schedule for both blogging and writing in my WIP. Right now it’s all willy-nilly and I do what I can, when I can. I have 3 kids 3-years-old and under, so I suppose it’s to be expected. But I really need a schedule. So I’m going to find it and stick to it this round. It might take some fumbling around, but the goal is to be smooth sailing at the end of the 80 days.
  • Write every day in my WIP. Building on the schedule, I need to write every day in my WIP. Even if it isn’t amazing wordage, it needs to progress forward each day.
  • Read one new book on the craft of writing. I believe I have much more to learn on writing craft. I focused a lot on story structure last round. There are so many other things I can work on. I think I’m going to start with a focus on grammar. Lord knows I need it. Last round I read three books on craft, but I took breaks from writing to do it. I don’t want to do that. So I’m going to drop that to one this round.
  • Connect more. Last round I didn’t participate as actively in the ROW80 community as I could have, my goal is to comment on more blogs and connect with you all on the #ROW80 hashtag on Twitter.
  • Read lots of YA.  I know that’s pretty sweeping and general and not really measurable, but I’m not sure how many books I can read in 80 days. Knowing me, a lot. In my line-up right now: Guantanamo Boy by Anna Perera (currently reading), Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper, Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins, The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson, and Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness. That’s an extremely varied list right there, but I believe being well read helps me write well.
  • Read self-published and small press books for The YA Curator. The site posts reviews once to twice a week, we have five reviewers. That means in 80 days I personally will do 2-3 reviews. Sounds simple, but I actually read through a lot of samples, then quite a few books, before I find one I want to recommend.
  • Beta reading. I have one I’m doing right now. We’ll see if any others pop up.
  • Design a writing space/library in my home office. Let’s consider this more of a “wish list” than “goal statement”. I would love to create a dedicated writing space and library in my home. This, of course, depends on time, money, and my husband :).
OK, once again I seem to have a lot of reading on my list. I do want to make my writing the biggest focus though, so if my writing schedule gets off kilter from all of the extras, I will have to let something go. But these are my goals for now. I wish my fellow participants much luck on this journey!
12 thoughts on “ROW80 Round 4 Goals

  1. Hi Erin,

    Congrats on getting your goals together! I’m also a kidlit writer, and just posted my goals.

    The Sky Is Everywhere was terrific – you are going to love it!

    Cheers,
    Gina

  2. those all sound like good goals. I’d really like to do that last one too, but my “office” is the dining room table right now. Wish we had room for an actual office, but that probably won’t happen anytime soon.

    • Yeah, my “office” is our guest room, but there is a little nook in the wall where a very small desk fits. I think I could make it work to double (triple) the purpose of the space, we’ll see how it works out.

  3. Two things struck me in your post: (1) Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper is sitting at the library on hold for me. I need to go pick it up and start reading! We’ll have to share what we think when we’re done. (2) I LOVE having a dedicated area to write. I have a writing nook in the extra bedroom, and it’s heavenly. I did figure out that I need to face the window, or I feel cooped up instead of cozy. Best wishes with that! I know it’s a luxury.

    • 1.) We’ll definitely have to have a discussion. I’ve read a few pages, the voice is really great. It’s definitely MG and not YA, but the message of the book is universal, I think. 2.) My “office” is really the guest room too. The desk is next to the window though. We’ve lived in our house for about a year now and we’ve got so many rooms left to decorate (we spent the majority of this time getting furnished, now we need decor). But hopefully I can get this in somehow :). I really just need some paint and bookshelves. I

  4. LOL, I hear you on the dedicated space.

    One of the beasties was using our guest room during the Sibling War of 2011 now that they’ve signed a peace treaty and he’s moved back into his own room I need to reclaim the room for my scrapbooking and office 🙂

    Great goals Erin! Good luck with them.

    • Thanks, Raelyn. Part of me wonders if I make this writing/office space if I’ll have to forfeit it to one of my own beasties in a few years? Glad you got your space back.

      I suppose now is as good a time as any for me to add to my “wish list”: I would also like this office to have a personal barista to keep me caffeinated and my own sandwich dude from Panera to keep me stocked in Steak Balsamico sandwiches and Cinnacrunch bagels (though not at the same time). Too much to ask? Probably. 🙂

Leave a Reply

