#ROW80 / Books I've Read

#ROW80 Sunday Check-In

You know what, everyone? I feel a bit like this right now, except not a dude in boxer shorts (though he’s fun to look at, right?):

Why? Well, because I did it. I wrote everyday last week. I mean, some days were a little sparse. But adding 100 words is 100 words that weren’t there before. And today I had an AWESOME day. A day so awesome it deserved all caps. I’m taking a dinner break now–darn family has to eat and all that jazz–but I am a little under 1000 words away from being done with Act I of this novel. WOOT!

It feels awesome to know that. I have a plan, it’s working out. I know where I am structurally in my story. I know where I need to go from here. Hence the victory dance. Act I is a pretty decent celebration milestone, I think.

Also, I was a reading fiend. I finished two books–one YA and one MG.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

 

Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper

As for finding my writing routine–still working on it. I find I get my best word flow in the morning, but with the kids it can be tough to squeeze in. I get the most time at night after they’ve gone to bed, but often I’m so exhausted it’s hard to keep my eyes open. But I’m getting there. I think if I can get a good chunk of words in during the morning hours, I don’t feel so stressed about them the rest of the day. Then I can rest easier at night when I try to get more in. Less pressure. We’ll see how it works out.

So, that’s where I am this week. How did all of you do?

11 thoughts on “#ROW80 Sunday Check-In

  1. Sounds like a pretty good week 🙂

    I’m like you in that my best NEW words come in the morning. Now that it’s too dark to walk the dog at 530-6am I’m starting up my D&E writing tomorrow. Coffee is set for 5am and if the gods are with me I’ll get an hour of writing before the wee beasties wake up!

    Good luck with the upcoming week.

  2. Great job on working to achieve your goals. Writing in the morning seems to do well for me, but is tough to get time for. I have the same problem you do with night. More time, but often feel too tired.

    Good luck with this next week. Hope it goes just as well, if not better 🙂

  3. Nice! What did you think of Lola? I flew through it in a weekend – Stephanie Perkins is a major talent 🙂

    Congrats on making headway on your goals!

    • I LOVED Lola. LOVED!! I also loved Anna and the French Kiss. I had heard from a few people that they didn’t like Lola as much as Anna, but I think I liked it better. Lola was a bit more complex than Anna with more issues to work through.

      And, yes! Stephanie Perkins is a major talent. That woman knows how to craft a completely realistic, yet still totally swoon-worthy, romance. And a healthy one at that. I loved in this book how she managed to weave family into it so well.

      Ack, I’m gushing. Can you tell how much I loved it? These are the kind of novels I strive to write–contemporary romances with realistic views of teens, love, family, etc.

  4. I finished Out of My Mind last week as well! I had recently read Anna and the French Kiss. I have several other books to get to before I can crack the Lola one. I can’t quite do that happy dance for my ROW80, and I would have much preferred to see you and your hip moves, clothed of course. But progress is progress. I am so impressed with your word counts with little ones around; I don’t know if I could have done what you’re doing when my boys were running me ragged at that age.

Leave a Reply

