#ROW80 / Books I've Read

What’s Your Hunger Games District? (and #ROW80 Update)

Before we get to my ROW80 goals and progress, let’s do something fun.

In honor of The Hunger Games movie: Find out what district you belong to and get your registration card HERE. May the odds be ever in your favor.

 

I’m District 5:


ROW80 Progress:

  • Writing routine: On the days my son goes to preschool, it’s pretty easy to get some wordage in the morning hours. On days he’s not in school, it’s much tougher. So my routine will have to be adjusted for school days vs. non-school days vs. weekends.
  • Writing everyday: Check! I’m liking this no-pressure approach. Just write everyday, no specific word count goals. Because honestly–some days are 1000+ and some days aren’t. But it all moves forward.
  • Reading: Have not picked up a new book on craft yet. Though a long time ago I bought The First Five Pages by Noah Lukeman and I never read the entire thing. So, I’ll probably get going on that again soon. As for YA books, I’m reading Guantanamo Boy by Anna Perera.
  • Connect more: I’ve made it to more blogs this last week, but getting on Twitter is hard. Have you all seen Sonia’s post aboutblog fatigue? And Roni’s post about blogging and social media platforms? I’m totally agreeing with them both right now (and feel a bit like shouting “Amen!”).
  • Reviewing for The YA Curator: I’ll have one review coming up next week. And I’m in the midst of reading another book I’ll probably review a few weeks after that.
So, not bad, really. Although, as you can guess, I spend pretty much all of my time reading or writing these days. Which isn’t a bad thing at all. Though hopefully I don’t get burnt out.
How are my fellow participants doing this week? What’s your Hunger Games district?
11 thoughts on “What’s Your Hunger Games District? (and #ROW80 Update)

    • Each district has an industry. District 12, where Katniss and Peeta (the main characters) are from is coal mining. District 5 is power. And the characters from 5 in the book aren’t all that distinct, except for the character called Foxface. But in the grand scheme of Panem it’s kind of in the middle. District 12 is the poorest, District 1 is the wealthiest (outside the Capital).

      And I really liked the books, you should read them :).

  1. This is fab! I’m stealing it for a blog post! I’m in district 11. I’m a gardener.

    Sounds like you’re coming along well on your goals. It is so hard to write when you have young kids so I tip my hat to you. Keep up the great work.

    • Thanks, Jenny. My library posted the link on Facebook and it’s so fun.

      Gardening. That’s fun! Though you probably have to give all the bounty to the Capital, but I’m sure you could figure out a way to smuggle some veggies and edible plants home :).

      Thanks for the encouragement. Some days go better than others, but I’m figuring it all out. Though if someone could tell me how to raise my kids, write, AND keep my house clean…that might be the true juggling act. *stares at dust on the mantle* *sigh* 🙂

  2. Oh man, the Hunger Games is still on my TBR list. I can’t wait to read them; I’ve heard such good things about them!

    I am liking the no pressure writing approach this time around. I’m trying time targets, where I spend at least 8 hours each week doing something writing related, whether it’s research, editing, or writing. I’ll eventually have to transition to a daily word count, since I’m going to try NaNo this year, but this feels really low-key right now.

    Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

