Books I've Read / Family

Thankful

It’s the time of year for thankfulness. Which sounds funny to say, because we should always be thankful. I suppose what I really mean is it’s the time of year where we make big, public declarations of the things we are thankful for. Because even though we should be thankful all the time, it’s actually not often we stop and really say it. And we should. So here are a few things from my thankful list.

These Goofballs:

They light up my life and bring me so much joy. And I forgive them all for their part in giving me a stomach that still looks pregnant in that picture. For, really, they all had something to do with it (OK, OK, horizontal stripes and a few brownies and cupcakes and not-skinny lattes had something to do with it too). Seriously though, I love them all to pieces. And you should too. This blog would not be nearly as entertaining without them. They provide at least half of my material :).

My Photographer:

Since having the twins, I have been unable to take as many pictures. They all move too fast and in totally different directions these days. So it’s great to have someone who can capture images for me. I feel far less guilty having fewer pictures if the pictures I do have are fabulous. Plus. Wanna see what my kids were really like the day we took our family photos? This:

She still managed to get some awesome shots, having THAT ^ to work with. Plus, she got this shot, which I think is hilarious. Thanks, Noelle! (2 Sisters Photography).

Winning the Family Lottery:

I really lucked out in the family division. Both with my family and my in-law family. Everyone should be as lucky as me. I’m grateful for them all. I have great parents, siblings, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins. Plus, all the family that isn’t really family, but is family (you know what I mean?). That’s a lot of love to go around.

Great Friends:

Friends who will have a glass of wine with me and chat. BFFs across the country. BFFs in my town. Friends who I’ve had in my life since my school days. Mommy friends. Facebook friends from ages ago I’m grateful to reconnect with. Friends who will pick up my kid from school when I’m in a bind. Friends to discuss books with. Friends to gripe about husbands with, erm, I mean, gush about husbands with. Just, friends.

My Writer Friends:

I’ve been on this writing journey since March. It feels like longer sometimes, but really, it’s been eight months. In that time I have learned so much. I have “met” and met great people. It’s kind of crazy to think that I didn’t really even know this world existed (outside of reading books) this time last year. And now I’m here. So, thanks, writer friends. You help me more than you know.

Books and the Authors Who Write Them:

I’ve always been a book lover. And now I love them more than ever. I’m grateful for the entertainment, for the escape, for the discussions, for the opportunity to expand the way I look and think about things, for the tears, for the laughs, for the inspiration. I once heard author Mike Lupica say, “There is no greater magic than page 1, chapter 1 of a book you want to read.” And that is so, so true.

 

So there it is. My partial list (I say partial because I could spend all day listing the many things I am thankful for…a roof over my head, food to eat, clothes on my back, indoor plumbing, whoever invented chocolate chip cookies, wine…).

 

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving (or just in general, for any of my friends in other countries who do not celebrate this holiday)? Big servings of turkey…or tofurkey…to you all!

 

13 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. What a great post and beautiful pictures of your lovely family! We all have so many things to be thankful for that we often take for granted, it’s nice to celebrate these things at times 🙂 xx

  2. Wonderful list Erin! You’re lucky to have a photographer, I’m always behind the camera and can’t think of the last family picture with everyone, and you have a beautiful family. Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving 🙂

  3. Hey, great picture of you and your family! It’s only been a year that I’ve been writing more seriously and only since January or Feburary that I discovered the larger book blogging community. I’m glad you have flexibility to go to author events!

  4. I loved seeing the pics of you and your family. What a great bunch! I’m thankful for so many things – such as a loving hubby who supports me; good kids who are fun to hang with; a house that needs cleaning too often; a car that still starts after 11 years (we’re going to make to 200k, Keiko); a wonderful family (parents, sisters, etc.); the opportunity write, write, write; friends from all over who love me in spite of my craziness; yoga pants with a stretchy waistband for my flexing measurements; my gold Starbucks card; the new cell phone that just came in that I need to pick up; my laptop (I love you, honey); and much, much more! Enjoy your turkey day.

  5. wow wow wow, did you say you won the lottery? I’m a gambler and my blog’s about lottery. Glad to know you got some extra funds. Hope you are using it to generate more money or meaningful stuffs for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

