Family

And This Is Why My Son Is Going to Flunk Out of Preschool

M&Ms Candies

Within two-point-one miles of my house there are two major grocery stores, a major drug store, and a well-known convenience store. And between them, these are the kinds of M&Ms Candy they carry:

  • Milk Chocolate
  • Peanut
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Dark Chocolate Peanut
  • Peanut Butter
  • Pretzel
  • Almond
  • Mint
  • Cherry Cordial
  • Coconut

And all of those varieties come in medium-sized bags, large-sized bags, and party-sized bags. They come in ornaments shaped like M&Ms. And in clear tubes shaped like candy canes. They come in the regular colors. And right now, they also come in special Christmas colors.

But there are no Mini M&Ms. At least not in those four stores. Which is, of course, what my son’s teacher requested of me (because I said I’d be willing to donate items to the classroom as needed). And why my son is going to flunk out of preschool. Because I have failed to follow directions. And hard as I tried, somehow I feel like I’m telling her, “The dog ate my homework.”

So the regular M&Ms will have to do. But at least I bought the party-sized bag. Because if I’m going to mess this up, I ought to mess it up big. Extra credit or something. Right?

13 thoughts on “And This Is Why My Son Is Going to Flunk Out of Preschool

  1. Erin, you never cease to crack me up. I would have gone to one store and then said, forget it!

    Also just wait until you get your kindergarten supplies list. You’ll be running around to fifteen different stores trying to find the exact kind of markers and crayons they want. πŸ™‚

    • I know, I can’t imagine what supplies lists are like!

      Is it bad I feel guilty for not driving 5 miles away for Target to see if they had them? LOL! Ahhh…they’ll work, right? I can’t imagine why minis vs. regular would make a monumental difference. But we’ll see, I guess. Good thing we don’t get grades in Preschool :).

  2. I remember mini m&ms! (Do they still make them?) I used to get them in college b/c the containers were the exact perfect size and shape for storing laundry quarters πŸ™‚ The fact that they came with candy was totally a bonus.

  3. This may be too little, too late, but they are probably in the baking section with the chocolate chips, since they are most commonly used for cookies… Maybe there is still a chance you can get your son a passing grade πŸ™‚

  4. Long ago, I designated myself “slacker mom” for all the school faux-pas I have made. The fact that you remembered to bring the M&Ms at all tops a lot of parents. Feel proud. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

