The Process

D-O-N-E. Done. (Ish)

Remember a few weeks ago I made a rather whiny post about my first draft? OK, maybe not whiny. More like desperate. Or panicky. Or whatever.

Well, I kicked that post’s butt.

My first draft is D.O.N.E. Done. (Ish)

(Ish), because it being a first draft and all there are a lot of things to fix: a few {INSERT SCENE OF AWESOMENESS HERE} scenes to insert, a few timeline corrections, words to cut, words to add, plot bunnies to slay, things like that. Of course, I suppose it’s not (ish) after all. Doing those things will then make it my second draft, not my first. By virtue of definitions and all that.

A lot of work and steps will follow. But it’s a relief. I did it. Step 1 of 457 in writing a book. I allowed myself the draft o’crap and it’s steaming…I mean resting…in my proverbial drawer right now. I’m taking a break from it so I can look at it with fresh eyes. It feels darn good. If I have accomplished nothing else, I have written a really shitty book.

I’m telling you all of this because your answers to my post really helped me push through. See, whining is useful sometimes. Your words and links from authors of amazingness who talked on this very subject. Your video links. Your cheerleading Β and pom pom waving. Your hand holding and coddling. So, thanks :). *Group hug*

Speaking of video links, this one was so spot on with where I was (and am now). Julie Glover shared it in her comment and I want to make sure everyone sees it. Save it somewhere in a file called TRUTH, DOG! (the dog part is optional, but I feel it adds something)

That day I was most definitely in the Reality stage. The, this is dragging on and on and I’m pulling myself through the desert and if I don’t get a freaking glass of water soon I just might die! stage.

Now I’m on top of the hill, in the Triumph stage. Standing there with my shiny manuscript shouting, “Done! Behold! It is done!!”

But, it seems the Editing stage is just around the corner. And THAT. Looks scary. I think I’ll take my week or so break here and use it watching horror movies so I know how to react when the evil Red Pen Beast comes to find me. I want to be the one who survives, not the one who dies in the basement. (Tangent: WHY do they always go down there?? You Β hear a noise and you run, stupid!)

22 thoughts on “D-O-N-E. Done. (Ish)

  1. Congratulations!! I put my NaNo book away for December, and I am scared to take it out again.

    So scared that I would rather start working on my second novel than edit my first…

  2. Great job on finishing the first draft!!

    I think I spent most of November in Euphoria and most of December in reality, being sidetracked by illness and getting a lot less words down than I normally would didn’t help. Right now I’m about 15k+ from finishing and getting that fear to finish. But, I can see the finish line, so I know I have to keep putting one foot in front of the other.

  3. Congratulations:) πŸ™‚ Hardest part is over:) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I also put my Nano book away…I was missing 1300 words, when I finished, and now its been over 1 month, and I have not looked at it since November went on. Maybe its time….

  4. I laughed aloud at this line: “Step 1 of 457 in writing a book.” Ah, how true. And you don’t realize it when you’re just reading books; it’s when you start to really write them, and edit them, and want them to be good.

    Congrats on the first draft! That deserves a glass of champagne or at least a swig from a box of wine. And just so you know, I like your writing so much, I would go ahead of you into the basement. We’ve wrestled with novels and young children, so I doubt anything down there is all that scary by now.

  5. Congratulations!!! You DID IT! And I LOVED the video so much that I could have recorded a laugh track for it – if you like hysterical laugh tracks… but I think the music was a far superior choice! Congrats and thanks for sharing – that’s just about the funniest thing I’ve watched this week! πŸ™‚

  6. Congratulations! *insert happy dance here* Isn’t it such a spectacular feeling?! It’s so nice to hear good news. Now take a break, eat a dessert of your choice GUILT FREE!, and smile! πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Erin and congrats!!!! I just finished recording my new album, and am now in the mixing stage, which as far as I can tell is pretty darn close to the editing of which you speak. I completely identify with this post. Keep up the great work!
    William

  8. Congratulations! That must feel amazing. As a side note: Don’t ever tell your children that whining can be useful or you will be digging your own grave.

  9. wow, congrats! that’s such an amazing feeling. and i totally love the “insert this scene” or “make this happen” placeholders. there’s no sense in staying stuck in the muck when you can move on and work on those things later!

    i’ve been revising for the last year, and still have more to get done. that phase has been.. interesting πŸ™‚

    cheers,
    Gina

  10. Pingback: Awarded! Who, Me? Again?? | Word Play

Leave a Reply

