Humor / Random Musings

Five Scratch-Your-Head Trends

If there’s one thing I know about the internet it’s things spread like wildfire. One day you’re sitting there, perfectly happy with life, you sign in to the social media du jour, and bam! You realize everything you’ve been doing is so darn yesterday.

But sometimes these trends confuse me. Why the need to reinvent things that were perfectly fine without all the reinventing?

1.) Food in Muffin Form

Chicken Pot Pie Cups

Chicken pot pie...in muffin form.

I admit I get sucked into these ideas sometimes. Because food in muffin form is just so.darn.cute. But, honestly? Lasagna in a muffin pan? As if it wasn’t enough work to layer the noodles, the sauce, the cheese, and the more cheese into perfection. Now I have to like, wrap the noodles and fit the stuff into a muffin tin? And maintain the proper ratio of cheese to stuff? For why?

Pot pies in muffin tins. Eggs-any-way-you-can-cook-’em in muffin tins. Rice Krispie treats in muffin tins. Apple pie. Crab cakes. Potatoes. Meatloaf. Pizza. Macaroni and cheese. Anything you can possibly imagine stuffing into a muffin tin and baking, you probably can.

The only thing it seems isn’t trendy: actual muffins.

2.) Things on a Stick

Another trend which seemed cute at first, but now makes me want to run away from the next skewer I see: pops. Cake pops. Brownie pops. Pie pops. Macaron pops. Rice Krispie pops. Grilled cheese sandwich pops (yes, I swear!). I’m all for small bites and cuteness. But please, the entire food universe does not need to be formed into a ball or cut into a shape and put on a stick. Let’s leave the stick food to county fairs. Corn dogs have earned their nitrate-filled, deep-fried right to live on a stick, OK? I cut my kids’ grilled cheese sandwiches into hearts for Valentine’s Day, but I draw the line there. No sticks. Besides, when a trend reaches infomercial status, you know it’s time to move on.

3.) Stuff Made Out of Pallets

pallet dining table

A dining table made from a pallet. Let's eat?

You know, those wooden things warehouses and stores and places stack stuff on, thereby making the stuff easy to hoist with a forklift? Well, people are making all kinds of crazy things out of them. Planters, furniture, picture frames, porch swings, and art work to name a few. It seems like a grand idea–take something you can pick up for free or cheap or, like me, you might even have in your garage (leftover from when The Couch was delivered), and make something out of it. Upcycling at its finest. The problem? It seems pallets are full of nasty things you probably don’t want in your home. Like chemicals, mold, and roaches. Yeah, the creepy crawly kind. Ick.

4.) Keep Calm and…

DFTBA

As annoying as the "Keep Calm" posters are getting, I love this one. Sage advice for Nerdfighters everywhere.

Carry On. Sparty On (you’d understand if you went to Michigan State). Eat Chocolate. Go Shopping. Potter On. Harry Ron. Call Batman. Bacon On. OmNomNom.

Somehow, I don’t think this is what the British Ministry of Information had in mind during World War II.

Some of the sayings are clever, but when everything under the sun suddenly has a Keep Calm… poster, it loses effect. Of course, the rebuttals make me laugh. Maybe I should make my own poster, “Keep Calm and Snark On”?

Now Panic and Freak Out

I want to be friends with whoever made this poster.

 

5.) Arbitrarily numbered lists…

Um…

 

 

P.S. I totally made the eggs in a muffin tin recipe. It didn’t go well. It might be why I apparently have such strong feelings on these subjects…

10 thoughts on “Five Scratch-Your-Head Trends

  1. Most things should not be in a muffin tin (namely lasagna . . . I totally agree with your thoughts!), but! Omelet muffins are a total win. Portable omelets?!? Quick, easy, not terrible for you (well. Depend on what you put in them. Mine are fairly healthy. But the sticks…..for the love of all things holy, leave it to fairs!

    • I think I need to revisit the egg/omelet muffin things. I liked the idea of it too (plus, it seemed like something my kids would find fun). But my eggs turned out really rubbery. I’ve been told I need to take them out of the oven while they are still runny/jiggly b/c the keep cooking. So, I think that was my problem. 🙂

  2. Bwahahahaa! Actually, the pallet table weirds me out WAY more due the creepy-bird-mural-thingy swooping down on the diners. Appetite? Lost.

  3. Hahaha love this! Your posts on weird social media things are hilarious. I was just telling someone the other day about your post on the ways people respond on facebook to snow.

  4. Fun post! I guess it’s just the never ending search for genuinely clever novelty in a world overpopulated with lamely novel ideas promoted by easily amused idiots. The quest for the next big trend leads to a lot of dead ends and stuff that should have never seen the light of day.

  5. The only thing that I’ve done in muffin form that wasn’t, well, muffins, was energy bars, and that was only because it made them a more convenient shape for carrying with me.

    Used pallets can make excellent compost containers, which seems like a terrific idea. I don’t know that I’d want to be eating off one.

Leave a Reply

