Books I've Read / Reading

World Book Night: April 23, 2012

World Book Night 2012 logo

In case you haven’t heard of it, World Book Night will take place on Monday, April 23, 2012, and is a celebration of books and reading. Officially, it is this:

World Book Night is an annual celebration designed to spread a love of reading and books. To be held in the U.S. as well as the U.K. and Ireland on April 23, 2012. It will see tens of thousands of people go out into their communities to spread the joy and love of reading by giving out free World Book Night paperbacks.

World Book Night, through social media and traditional publicity, will also promote the value of reading, of printed books, and of bookstores and libraries to everyone year-round.

Successfully launched in the U.K. in 2011, World Book Night will also be celebrated in the U.S. in 2012, with news of more countries to come in future years.

The goal is to give out one million books in the U.S. on the night of April 23. Person to person.

I’M A GIVER! WOOHOO!

My fellow Book Givers and I will each pass out 20 copies of a book in the hope of spreading our love of reading. How amazing is that? We had 30 titles to choose from and I chose The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. There were so many great books available (The Hunger Games, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, and Wintergirls to name a few), but there was something about passing on the awesome power of the Word Shaker that struck me. Words have power. Use them wisely. Use them for good. Use them for justice. Use them to show the truth. These themes are true whether fighting the propaganda of the Nazi party or the school bully. It gives me the chills and I can’t wait to pass it on.

“Wait!” You might be shouting. “How did I not hear of this?”

I’m not sure! But that’s why I’m telling you about it now. Keep your eye on this, spread the word. If we’re successful this year, maybe we can pass out TWO MILLION books next year.

“I tried to sign up, but never heard from anyone.” Others of you might be saying.

Contact your local pick-up location. I know mine, Anderson’s Bookshop, had a few extra boxes for just this reason. You might still be able to participate.

I’m so excited for this opportunity and can’t wait for next week! I’ll be sure to share any pictures and stories from that day with you all.

Here is where you can find more information about World Book Night:

Twitter: @wbnamerica

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/worldbooknightusa

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/worldbooknight/

Tumblr: http://wbnamerica.tumblr.com/

Are any of my readers also Book Givers? If so, what book did you choose? If you’re not a Book Giver, which book would you  have chosen if you were (and then be sure to sign up next year!)?

8 thoughts on “World Book Night: April 23, 2012

  1. Did you get a message when the books were ready? The last message I got was from the WBN people saying things were backed up and please don’t contact your bookstore before 4/17. I never got anything that said “Come and get it!” (Should I be expecting that? Or do I just call the store?)

    Also, yay books!

  2. I only discovered this event yesterday after a visit to my local library, I was gutted not to have heard about it before as it was now too late to be a giver this year. I have now registered with WBN so next year I hope to be able to play a bigger part in the event, this year I am with you in spirit – happy giving! 😀

  3. I only recently heard about this and I think it is beyond awesome! I’m unable to participate this year but is it ever on my radar for next year. Have a fabulous time Erin 😀

Leave a Reply

