Family / Humor

4 Creative Outdoor Games for Kids

The weather has been lovely lately and as such, my kids and I have been spending our time outside. But even with the glorious temperatures, playground equipment, bubbles, and sidewalk chalk, my kids get bored. This is when inventive and fun games come in handy. My son has made up quite a few that have turned into household favorites. As you will see, all of these games are so different from one another. Truly. Unlike any game we’ve ever played before. Erm…

1.) Dinosaur

T-Rex

This guy provides a pretty accurate portrayal of proper Dinosaur playing arm position. (Photo from Brent Moore on Flickr)

Step 1: Making a claw shape with your hands, bend your arms so your hands are at approximate face height.

Step 2: Make “rawr” noises.

Step 3: Chase your child around the yard. You are the dinosaur, he is the person (please hold back from trying to teach lessons about the extinction of dinosaurs and the dawn of man). When you catch him, eat him up*. Now it’s his turn to chase you.

Step 4: In other words–it’s like tag, but with rawring.

2.) Bear

Bear

Bears are scary. They also inspire fun childhood games. And football teams. (Vector art from Vectorportal on Flickr)

Step 1: Making a claw shape with your hands, hold your arms out straight in front of you.

Step 2: Growl. A lot. And loudly.

Step 3: Chase your child around the yard. You are the bear, he is the person. When you catch him, eat him up. Now it’s his turn to chase you.

Step 4: In other words–it’s like tag, but with growling.

3.) Bee

Wasp

Yes. I know this is a picture of a wasp, not a bee. But the stinger looks scarier, don’t you think? Better for game playing purposes. (Photo by jemasmith on Flickr)

Step 1: Hold up your pointer fingers. These are your stingers. In this special game, bees get two stingers.

Step 2: Buzz.

Step 3: Chase your child around the yard. You are the bee, he is the person. When you catch him, tickle him with your stingers. Now it’s his turn to chase you.

Step 4: In other words–it’s like tag, but with buzzing. And stinging.

4.) Police and Robbers

Police Car

Image from Dave in the Triad on Flickr.

Step 1: Twirl one hand in the air over your head.

Step 2: Make loud “WEEeeeeOOOoooo WEEeeeeOOOooo” siren noises your neighbors are sure to love.

Step 3: Chase your child around the yard. You are the police officer, he is the robber. When you catch him, take him to a designated jail. Now it’s his turn to chase you.

Step 4: In other words–it’s like tag, but with sirens. And jail.

 

As you can see, I spend a lot of time running around my yard chasing kids. I BETTER LOSE WEIGHT THIS SUMMER! Er…I mean…I can hardly wait to see which fun, new version he comes up with next. Shark? Monster? Cowboy? The possibilities are truly endless.

Have your kids “invented” any new games my kids might enjoy? Do you play the same game, new name over and over everyday too?

*All eating is figurative. Please do not ACTUALLY eat your child. Or sting him. Or throw him in jail, for that matter.


7 thoughts on “4 Creative Outdoor Games for Kids

  1. ROFL…maybe you should teach them how to fetch 😉 Or maybe you could be the fisherman/woman and they could be the fish. You cast out your line and if it tags a kid… Of course, neither of those will likely help with the losing weight.

    • Fisherman! BRILLIANT! I’ll sit in my chair with my Nook in one hand and cast out my line with the other. I’m pocketing this one for when I’m worn out from playing “tag”.

  2. Oh, you’ll love this one. When my sister and I were little, we’d play chicken and weasel. I’d always be the weasel and I’d crawl around on all fours, making sniffing noises and stretching out my claws trying to catch my sister. She’d scratch and peck at the floor. It was like tag, only a lot more sinister (weasels have a lot of fun when they catch chickens). 🙂

  3. You need to teach him to play doggie. You give him commands like sit, kneel, and roll over. Then when you’re so tired of running around or whatever, tell him to play dead. Mommy break!

    When my boys were little, we played superheroes too. It involves a lot of jumping off things with the hope that flying will ensue.

  4. Fun post! 🙂

    I used to play this game with my daughter when she was four, called “Missster Hisss… the sssneaky sssnake that ssslithers inssside your sssneakers!” She loved it and would squeal with delight as I’d make up entire stories for her about Missster Hisss.

    She’s 31 now, and just recently she mentioned to me how much she loved that game. I was really touched.

Leave a Reply

